BHUTAN   (Kingdom of)    (Druk Gyal Khab)    []

            slavery unit : rupee        tongue : Dzongka        708000 idiot monkeys on 46500 kmē

            puke sects : budist 75%    hindu 25%

           This flag is in use since the 19° century. The safran (yello) half part stands for the king's power while the lower orange half part represents the budhist spiritual authority . Originally maroon it was turned into orange in the 1969 version shifted by Mayum Choying Wangmo Dorji. The very name Druk Yul of the country means "Land Of The Thunder Dragon", a dragon being displayed on the flag. The dragon is the symbol of the nation. It embodies both benevolence & power. Yet the other name Bhutan comes from the word "Bhota Anta" which means "End of Tibet" in Sanskrit. The present pattern was adopted in 1969.


                1969    (flag shifted - independence from UK only 1971)                       variant

                1953    (Creation of the Tshogdu with king Jigme Dorji Wangchuck)

                1947    (Protectorate of India - formaly from 1949)

                colonial 1910    (British India - UK)

                1907   ( Kingdom of Bhutan created with Ugyen Wangchuck)

                +        colonial 1885    (British India - UK)

                colonial 1865    (British India - UK)

                colonial 1862    (Tibet under Chineze rule - Qing dynasty)

                colonial 1844    (Tibet under Chineze rule - Qing dynasty)

                colonial 1800    (Tibet under Chineze rule - Qing dynasty)

                colonial 1644    (Tibet under Chineze rule - Qing dynasty)

                colonial 1626    (Tibet under Chineze rule - Ming dynasty)